Les Loges du Parc with a belle époque façade

Les Loges du Parc with a belle époque façade

The belle époque façade hides over a century of thermal history in La Roche-Posay.

The former "Hôtel du Parc"

Built by two popular architects, Henri Martinet and Edmond Durandeau who also built many villas in Biarritz, Hôtel du Parc was inaugurated on the 6th of August 1905 when electricity arrived in La Roche-Posay. It was used as a military hospital during the First World War.

Hôtel du Parc reached its zenith during the 1930s. The most famous guest, Florence Gould, a rich American who inspired arts and literatures arrived in a Rolls Royce with forty people and a her many Pekingese dogs. This is where she met the academician, Pierre Benoît who declared complete devotion to her and invited many important figures to La Roche-Posay: André Gide, Jean Giraudoux, Sacha Guitry and his wife Yvonne Printemps, Pierre Fresnay, Jean Cocteau, Jean Marais... To entertain this illustrious crowd, a small casino was built in a wood pavilion in the hotel grounds. 

Much later the casino was moved to a castle in Posay, on the road to Vicq-Sur-Gartempe.

Les Loges du Parc

Closed for ten years between 1988 and 1998, Les Loges du Parc underwent a two-year refurbishment programme before being reopened in July 2000. It is now a 4* aparthotel.

A unique site surrounded by a rose garden and peony garden, a thermal-water swimming pool and a long terrace on Place aux Tilleuls in La Roche-Posay.

The hotel is a charming symbol of the spa town's heritage.

Completely renovated with countryside chic and a British touch, the hotel offers beautiful apartments, large hotel rooms and suites.

The external art nouveau style has been conserved. Note the frieze which is listed as an architectural and cultural feature.